Day 3: Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Myrtle Beach ChillinWe checked the weather religiously. We prayed for clear skies, and we were blessed with clear skies. We neglected to pray for warm beach weather; it was a little chilly. That didn’t stop us, though. We still enjoyed our beach day. I was actually fine under my umbrella, which was much needed. As you can see in my photo, I was a little red after our day in the Outer Banks yesterday, despite how much sunscreen I poured on.

After spending some time seaside, we decided to go ziplining. We had a prime parking spot close to the boardwalk, so we didn’t want to go to WonderWorks like we had originally planned. We noticed that there was a small place nearby. We exchanged our flip flops for sneakers and headed over to Myrtle Beach Zipline Adventures. We were hoping their obstacle course would be open, but when we got over there, we noticed the men were working on it, not climbing it. That was a bummer, but also besides the point. ZipliningWe were there to zipline. After signing our waivers, we headed over to get set in our harnesses. Then, we made our way up the 6 or so flights of stairs. As I climbed higher and higher, in my clunky harness, I began to get anxious. Why do I insist on torturing myself, doing things that scare me? When we got to the top, the man asked us who wanted to go first – he could send two of us at once. I misinterpreted the question, and so I insisted Dina and Kristina go first. That was a dumb mistake. Both of them glared at me, as if they were telling me I was being stupid. He fixed their harnesses and hooked them up, and off they went. I was next, all by my lonesome. He hooked me in, and told me to just sit back and lift my feet. My heart was pounding, and I could not stop laughing. You know how you nervous laugh, sometimes? Yeah, I couldn’t stop. But thankfully, the guy they had working up there was extremely sweet, telling me that it’s worth it, and it won’t last long. I could tell, I was annoying him, after all I probably should have gone with one of my friends if I was scared of heights. Eventually, I just went, and it was AWESOME! I wanted to go again, but I was cheap, and didn’t want to pay an additional $10 to ride again. I should have gone again.

After our adrenaline rush, we wanted to try this cool bar we passed on our way to ziplining. I’m a scientist, and I saw the Erlenmeyer flasks and lab coats from a mile away. The bar is called The Chemist. They serve sciency food and drinks while wearing lab coats. “Iron Man” was on TV. It’s the perfect nerd bar. I enjoyed their Flux Capacitor and the Periodically Peach Martini. They were both delicious AND entertaining. I may move to Myrtle Beach so that can become my new hang out. I’d never leave. Unfortunately, my friends are not as nerdy as me, and they did not want to spend the night there.

Reluctantly, I left The Chemist, and did other basic touristy things, like ride the SkyWheel, stroll along the boardwalk, and take pictures under the pier. I liked Myrtle Beach. I’ll definitely be back. I think there is a little bit of everything there for people to fall in love with, so maybe I can convince my boyfriend to go, he isn’t much of a beach goer, but there’s bound to be something he’d enjoy.

Leave a Reply

