Day 2: Outer Banks, NC

Cream Cheese Cinnamon BunsToday was the first official day of our road trip. This is the first day we had plans, and were going to places we pinned on our Pinterest boards. We were excited. After lathering on our sunscreen, and putting on our bathing suits, our first stop was Tullio’s Bakery in Duck, N.C. It’s a pleasant little place, tucked away in a random plaza along Route 12. When we first walked in, we were greeted with smiling faces, and the sweet aroma of cinnamon buns. There was so much to chose from! Apple turnovers, chocolate croissants, cream cheese frosted cinnamon buns, various coffee cakes, chai lattes, coffees, espressos, etc… For a small mom & pop shop, this place had variety! Each of us got something different, and went outside to enjoy our pastries. Everything was delicious! I’d go back here in a heartbeat. They had fudge, which I seriously considered buying, but I figured I didn’t need fudge at 9 in the morning. They even had treats for dogs.

While in the bakery, I got a phone call from Corolla Watersports. They needed to shift our morning parasailing adventure. They had suffered a thunderstorm in the morning. They wanted a little more time to recover from the storm. I had no problem with starting an hour later. That gave us a little more time to explore Duck. So after breakfast, we walked along the boardwalk. It was so refreshing, breathing in the salty air. Duck Boardwalk

Noon came too soon, but we piled back in the car and headed to North Duck (Corolla Watersports other location) for our parasailing adventure. I was excited; all of us were excited. We had never parasailed before. We bought our tickets, and our photo package, and then we sat patiently waiting for the other 2 groups to join us. We went out on the water, and the captain informed us they were going to test out the parachute, but the wind was just too unpredictable. The first group went up with ease. I was getting anxious (I’m afraid of heights), but the captain seemed to be a seasoned professional, and he was extremely relaxed. Unfortunately, halfway through their flight, the captain decided we would not be able to fly today. The wind was anywhere from 5 mph to 20 mph, and he just wanted to play it safe. After ten minutes or so, he started to pull the group in, and much to everyone’s surprise, including the captain’s, their landing went extremely smoothly. Everyone was happy… well except us. We really wanted to parasail. Don’t get me wrong, I’m honestly, very happy with the captain’s decision. He could have kept our money, and flown us, but he didn’t want to risk it. He wanted everyone to be safe. I had just gotten all hyped up, and ready to go!

After our nice long boat ride, we headed to the Wright Brother’s Memorial. The man at the gate was quite adorable, with his pleasant personality, and perfectly groomed handlebar moustache. He explained to us that the museum / visitor center is currently under construction, but there was a (small) temporary one available. So, yet, another bummer, but hey, we were still about to visit a historic site. I remained optimistic. The sun was very hot today, so we put on another layer of sunscreen and headed to the memorial obelisk. Wright Brothers Memorial Site

DSC_0175

We probably spent more time here than Dina would have liked, but the history of this place is preserved, and you just get caught up in the Wright Brother’s story. We ended up heading out after only visiting the monument and the sculpture. We did not travel along the flight line. It’s a bummer, but as mentioned, the sun was very hot, and the visitor center was closed. After getting into the nice air conditioned car, we headed to Jockey’s Ridge State Park, our final destination in the Outer Banks.

Northeast USA doesn’t have any sand dunes, so I was actually really excited to check Jockey’s Ridge out. The parking lot was quite empty when we arrived. I figured, maybe it was just because tourist season hasn’t really started yet. Nope. That is not the case. It was insanely windy. We walked around the park, getting pelted with millions of tiny sharp grains of sand. Nonetheless, we persisted. I was going to experience the sand dunes! I had read so many stories about how this was a must see attraction.

Jockeys Ridge Stae Park

Now, I’m not going to say I was disappointed… But this ^ is the only good picture I got at this park. There are no spectacular views. It’s pretty much, just a very good cardio workout, walking against the wind, through the sand. I am very happy I stopped, but I wasn’t too fond of finding sand EVERYWHERE for the next 3 or so days. I bet this is a fun place to go four wheeling. I’d also consider hang-gliding here, except for the fact that I’m terrified of heights, and hang-gliding sounds like no fun to me.

Despite all of the set backs we faced, I would still say the Outer Banks were fun. I’d love to go back some day, but maybe spend a week there. Then if the weather is not cooperative, we can always try the next day.

Leave a Reply

