Day 1: Longwood Gardens & National Harbor

 

The Snake of Longwood GardensThe drive to the Outer Banks is about 9 and a half hours, or 12 hours if you want to avoid tolls. We’re poor, so we took the long way around. I’m a very impatient person, and so being crammed in a car for that long was not an option. New York City is just too much to do in a couple hours, and we were going to stop in Philly on our way home. Just after Philly, though, about 5 hours into our trip, is this beautiful place – Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, PA.

It is extremely easy to spend an entire day here. I wish we had more time. I had read posts saying Longwood is best in the spring, but by summer all the plants are dead. I was nervous that we missed all the plants in full bloom. Much to my surprise, there is an extremely vast range of plant types at these gardens. There are shrubs, flowers, cacti, mosses, etc… I’m convinced there is no perfect time to visit the gardens. I can only imagine what this place looks like at night, when they light up the waters!

Italian Water Gardens

Pleasant Peach Perennials.jpgI grabbed a map when I first walked in. I wish I had paid more attention to it. We didn’t even make it through half the estate. We missed the Hillside Gardens, which are currently in bloom, *rolling eyes in despair*. We didn’t get a chance to stroll through the main water fountain. That photo you see above, of the water fountains, yeah, that’s not even the main spectacle. I wish I had taken one of their FREE tours. There is just too much to see! If I lived anywhere near this beauty, I would definitely become a member. It must be gorgeous in the winter time, with all the Christmas lights. And in the fall, with the various foliage. Longwood Gardens in magical.

 

Baltimore Ekiben

After Longwood Gardens, we hopped in the car, and drove to Baltimore, MD. My friend likes tattoos, so we figured we’d stop by the tattoo museum. Trip Advisor said it was a cool unique spot. … Lies. I’m really bummed we wasted any time here. It’s not really a museum. The saving grace in Baltimore, was Ekiben. We stopped here for dinner. Oh my goodness. I wish we had a place like this near me. It was delicious, and everyone was friendly. I’d go back in a heartbeat.

 

 

 

Man in the SandOur last stop, before Duck, N.C. was the National Harbor. I was intrigued by the giant in the sand. I was not disappointed. We actually had serendipitously arrived at the perfect time. Salute the Sunset had just begun. Sergeants of the armed forces were singing and putting on a fun show. I remember thinking how fun it must be to live in this area. This spot would be a perfect hang out after work, or for a first date. Plus there are so many restaurants and shops along the strip. I’ll definitely be back to the National Harbor. Parking was easy too. I paid $6 for 2 hours of parking, and it was less than a half mile from the water. That is unheard of.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

