Sunset over English Bay

After a long day of hiking, we wanted to go to the top of Grouse Mountain to see the sunset, but unfortunately the Sunset Tour was already booked. It was my fault. Regardless, I wanted to see the sunset on the west coast. After a quick Google search, I saw that another prime sunset spot was English Bay. We packed a couple hotel blankets, and took the bus to English Bay. It was packed! Man, there was such a variety of people. There were people chatting, people playing music loudly, people walking their dogs (and then not cleaning up their messes…), etc… I know it sounds weird, but I’ve actually never experienced this. If I’ve ever had any time to actually sit and experience a sunset, everyone else was also sitting to experience the sunset. Then, once the sun is down, everyone packs up and leaves. It was amazing! It was great to see people actually living, and experiencing. People weren’t carving out time to just watch a sunset; they were living.

DSC_0199.JPG

Unfortunately, everyone living made it quite difficult to take great photos of the sunset. I mean, I don’t care too much. I was just trying to learn how to use my new camera. And it did make for some entertaining pictures, seen below.

After the sunset, we were starving. I was getting hangry. We really weren’t interested in paying the ridiculous prices for seafood and a lot of the restaurants near English Bay most definitely overcharge you. We eventually found a very quiet, and boring pub. I don’t even remember the name of the place. The food was mediocre. I always had this idea that when I’m on vacation, I need to experience the food, and never have a dull meal. This definitely was a dull meal, and brought me back to reality. It was a reminder that not everywhere will be as exotic and extravagant as I had anticipated. I don’t know what I was really expecting from Canadian dining, but….

By the time we were done eating, we were ready to go back to the hotel. We walked back to the bus stop outside Stanley Park. We waited for our bus for quite a long time, but we weren’t alone. After the first full bus came and left, we commiserated with two local women. They struck up a conversation with us. One woman in particular has definitely been in Canada for a while. She had the typical Canadian accent, and said, “Eh,” after ever sentence. Vancouver, being a very touristy, and very popular place for immigrants, tends to lack the full Canadian experience. It was so cool to talk to a true Canadian! She was so laid back, and fun, and interested in us. It was not only refreshing to interact with friendly people, but it was also adorable to talk with this women. She was interested in where we were from, and what we do. We had a conversation. That doesn’t happen in New York. People are generally stand offish, and sometimes very rude. I mean, I wasn’t a huge fan of the other woman, because she was telling me how stupid and terrible vaccines are, right after I told her I’m an immunologist. No matter what facts I told her, she had to give me her opinion and tell me about some lame uneducated online article she read. Nevertheless, it was cool to talk to strangers, and learn about other people. Both of these ladies were a breath of fresh air. Talking to random people helps get you out of your shell, and reminds you that you and your families aren’t the only people in the world. There is a vast population of people out there. Go, learn, experience, enjoy!

DSC_0204.JPG

Leave a Reply

